Home > Public Relations, Topics of the Week > NewsU Course: “Understanding Media: Processes and Principles” Reviewed

NewsU Course: “Understanding Media: Processes and Principles” Reviewed

This NewsU course was very helpful in gaining a basic understanding on breaking down advertisements as well as learning what different tactics are used in capturing someone’s attention in an advertisement.  Going into the course, I had always been interested in what advertisers do in ads to catch people’s attention and what is generally used to persuade someone to buy a product.  Also, I would occasionally watch commercials on TV and analyze them on what they were using even though I had never learned about what is actually used.

The NewsU course was very well put together and very easy to follow along with.  I never had any trouble understanding what the author was trying to communicate and all of the principles that were being taught were not only discussed in text, but they also offered actual commercials that show the various aspects.

Being a visual learner, the visual aspect of the course was the one that stuck out to me the most.  The fact that there was a visual component to the course was tremendously helpful for me.  I think that the visual learning experience was tied very well into the course and was one of the best integrations in an online learning course that I have seen.

As I stated earlier, I am interested in the various tactics and strategies that companies and advertisers use in their advertising, especially the one that is used widely by salespeople that makes someone think that they couldn’t live without the product that they are trying to sell.

The NewsU course had a section on the idea that advertisers use a sort of  ‘mind manipulation’ to make a potential client think certain things that will make them more likely to buy from them.  This section in specific interests me because it is something you can see in sales at many different venues all over the world.

The night after I took the NewsU course, I happened up at a pet store and because I had just gone through this course, I was analyzing what the salesperson was doing.  First off, when my wife was looking at one of the dogs in its cage, he insisted that he get it out so we could play with it.  What he did next blew my mind:  when he walked up after we had been playing with it for a while and asked, “So did you fall in love yet?”  This was a form of the mind manipulation where he was attempting to plant the idea in our heads that we had fallen in love with this dog and needed to take it home!

As you can see, I did get something out of the course and I would recommend it to anyone interested in this type of study!

  1. February 4, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    Cody, I agree, I am also more of a visual learner and this is definitely what stuck out to me, in this course. It’s pretty amusing that you got to see an advertising technique played out, first hand. It’s never been a thought of mine that salespeople use actual technique to advertise their merchandise.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

