Home > PR Connections, Public Relations > Canon’s Loyalty Program

Canon’s Loyalty Program

Being that I am a photographer, I am interested in the latest deals and programs offered.  I will admit that I am biased towards Canon, but I have never had any problems with them.

I am currently in the process of upgrading to a new camera and recently came across an amazing program put on by Canon.  It is called the “Canon Loyalty Program,” and what it is is that when someone is interested in upgrading cameras and has a broken old Canon camera, they can send in the old, broken camera and get a discount off of a refurbished camera.

In essence, Canon is giving discounts upwards of $400 to loyal customers who are in the market to upgrade and want to stay with Canon.  I think that this program is genius!   Canon’s public relations department is doing a great job in keeping up their public image, especially with current customers.

For me, I don’t think I could turn this offer down because it is the cheapest I will be able to find the camera anywhere and supports Canon in the process instead of buying it from a third-party entity.

  1. February 12, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    I’ve heard a lot of good things about Canon. My best friend has a Canon, a lot of my friends do. One of my friends even yelled at me for having a Samsung instead of a Canon so she couldn’t borrow the battery charger for it.
    Canon seems to know what’s up in helping their customers. Seems like this is a great way to help their customers out and keep them interested, and a great deal and way for you to get your new camera. Heck, now I’m excited for you!

  2. February 15, 2011 at 11:58 pm

    The marketing tactic mentioned definitely gives the consumer more of an incentive to make a Canon purchase. I currently have a Nikon D5000, and it cost me all my grain and oats. My father recently purchased a Canon Rebel. In comparing the two, each camera has varying features, but generally, DSLRs all function the same. This also goes for the pricing– regardless of the brand you side with, you will find yourself shoveling out about the same amount as you would for the neighboring competitor.

  3. February 20, 2011 at 12:12 am

    This is so cool! I love Canon as well and am starting to get more into photography. I have wanted to upgrade but figured I didn’t have the money. However, maybe with this new program I will have enough. I think this is a really smart move on Canon’s part because I feel like now I am a lot more likely to buy from them this year, than I would have been had they not started this deal program. Thanks for the great tip!

  4. February 26, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    Good to know! What a great topic to write on, especially because photography is something that you are interested in. I am a Canon owner and I love their product. I completely agree with you that they are doing a great job at keeping the public interest with their customers. I definitely would like to look into that program. Thanks for the heads up.
    ~Ariana

  5. ChrisAllenMajor
    March 8, 2011 at 10:28 am

    How do you get into this program? Is it some sort of club? I have checked Canons site but have not found anything pertaining to this.

    • viper42391
      March 9, 2011 at 11:49 pm

      They don’t have it on the website because they would rather keep it as a sort of ‘hidden’ program. You can call 1 (866) 443-8002 and select option 2 for more info. Here is a pretty comprehensive list of Q and A’s about the program as well.

      • chrisallenmajor
        March 12, 2011 at 3:25 pm

        Thanks a million, gonna trade my 50 D for a 7D 🙂

      • viper42391
        March 12, 2011 at 10:44 pm

        Actually, the best thing to do is find a non-working powershot (doesn’t matter how old it is) and use that. The program is supposed to be an alternative to repairing an old camera that is broken. When you return the old camera to them, it goes straight to a recycling facility where it is destroyed. If you don’t want to keep the 50D, you can sell it, buy a broken powershot for $15 and use the money you got from the 50D to cover half of the 7D. 🙂 How do you like that option?

  6. March 17, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    I have not heard of the Canon Loyalty Program, but I think this is a great idea! It will create customer satisfaction while also encouraging people to commit to becoming a loyal Canon customer. My mom recently bought me a new camera in February, but I wish I had read this blog post beforehand! Thanks for the information; I’ll keep it in mind when someone I know has a camera that breaks (as they so often do).

  1. February 20, 2011 at 12:18 am
  2. February 24, 2011 at 1:58 pm

Leave a Reply

