Home > PR Connections, Public Relations > The iPad 2 is Here!… Sort of…

The iPad 2 is Here!… Sort of…

Apple released the  new 2nd generation iPad 2 today in a long awaited press conference this morning.  Surprisingly, Steve Jobs, who has been on sick leave for the past two months, still made the announcement and introduced the new gadget.  The new iPad is thinner, lighter, faster, and more capable than the previous one, but some people, myself included think it was too fast.

The first iPad was announced just over a year ago, which sounds like a long time, right?  In this case, it isn’t that long.  When they announced the first iPad, they were introducing a new area of personal devices, touchscreen tablets.  Although there had been devices like the iPad before it, they never caught on and were discontinued.

In my observations, the device took a while to catch on, finally beginning to get widespread adoption and usage a few months ago.  A lot of the people who bought the first generation now own an out of date device that they just got and some are probably still paying off!

I don’t think this was a wise choice on Apple’s part.  I think they could have extended the life of the first generation until this summer and released it with the rest of the devices instead of cutting its life short.  And, on top of that, it isn’t available for another week and a half!

  1. March 6, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    Hey Cody! I totally agree with you. I feel that Apple should have waited a little longer to release the iPad 2 even if it was just for the sake of their customers. I understand that technology is always evolving and part of the way companies make money is by releasing new and updated devices. However, there comes a point where as the customer you get tiered of spending hundreds or maybe thousands of dollars. Only to discover that a year latter what you just bought and maybe are still be paying on, has suddenly been labeled the old version.

  2. March 21, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    I definitely agree with you on this. One of my dad’s coworkers got an iPad 1 a few weeks before they announced that 2 was coming out. He wasn’t too happy with it. Also, after doing research on it, a lot of people are coming across slight difficulties and issues with their devices, something that should be worked out before releasing them all to the public. I am pretty sure my dad got me one for my birthday and I should be getting it soon, so hopefully I will have better luck with mine. But I do agree with you that Apple, and many other companies, should wait longer than just a short year before releasing the next upgraded device.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

